Join the AEG Foundation Email List

For the lastest AEG Foundation news and events.

AEG Foundation
Susan Steele Weir Scholarship Fund (Women of "Steele")
Susan Steele Weir

The Susan Steele Weir Scholarship Fund was established by the AEG Foundation in 2017 in order to create a scholarship fund that promotes and supports the continued development and advancement of women in the profession of engineering geology. The fund name honors the contributions, work and pioneering career of Susan Steele Weir, who became a geologist when the field was completely dominated by men, taking her to a world of underground tunnels for the purpose of monitoring the geologic impact of nuclear weapons testing and later to geologically map tunnels for water distribution systems. After graduating from college in the early 1970's she landed her first job with the USGS, where she would often find the first female footprints would be her own. Susan is an Honorary Member and Past President of AEG. Scholarship awards are to be applied to the cost of tuition.

  • 2020 - Catherine Hobart, Baylor University
  • 2019 - Regan Wess, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
  • 2018 - Anna Stanczyk, University of Utah
  • 2017 - Ariel Rickel, Colorado School of Mines